The GLP is committed to full transparency. Download and review our 2019 Annual Report

Plant-based burgers are wildly popular. Are any of them vegan?

| | November 27, 2019
burger vegan
This article or excerpt is included in the GLP’s daily curated selection of ideologically diverse news, opinion and analysis of biotechnology innovation.

…. [W]ith a range of new “plant-based” meat options entering fast-food restaurants like Burger King, Denny’s and Dunkin Donuts, which plant-based burgers are actually vegan?

The meat alternatives used in these products are made by Impossible Foods and Beyond Meat, both of which are entirely vegan-friendly. However, when considering the toppings and cooking methods, not all “plant-based” burgers at fast-food restaurants are suitable for vegans.

The Impossible Whopper includes mayonnaise, which isn’t vegan, although a customer could ask for the burger without mayo. However, the Impossible Whopper is typically cooked on the same broiler as meat patties. The Burger King website states: “For guests looking for a meat-free option, a non-broiler method of preparation is available upon request.”

Related article:  Viewpoint: YouTube, Facebook and Google should do more to stop spread of dangerous cancer quackery

Carl’s Jr has a few plant-based burgers made with a vegan patty by Beyond Meat. The “plant-based” options at Carl’s Jr are the Beyond Famous Star burger, which comes with or without cheese, and the Beyond BBQ Cheeseburger.

If a customer were to order any of these burgers, they would not be vegan-friendly as they contain mayo, and two of them contain cheese.

Read full, original article: Which Plant-Based Burgers are Actually Vegan? Burger King, Denny’s, Dunkin’, Carl’s Jr, White Castle?

News on human & agricultural genetics and biotechnology delivered to your inbox.
Optional. Mail on special occasions.

Send this to a friend